Observations from a watch repair shop…

Replacing watch batteries is very much like working in a funeral home. People come to me when their time stops, which happens far more frequently than one might think. People always sound so surprised: “I put it on this morning and the hands weren’t moving!” They speak as if this is the first time this kind of tragedy, this kind of injustice, has entered their lives. “I thought it would last longer,” they say, every time. I smile gently and reach out my hand. “Every circuit’s different,” I tell them as I take their watch. “There’s no guarantee.”

One Response to Observations from a watch repair shop…

  1. Michelle says:

    Hi Cymbria,

    I just read this little piece. It’s delightful. What an analogy. And you’ve written it so well.

    Keep going, Michelle

Leave a Reply

