Confessions – part 2

…and now about that Porshe (click to read part 1). I was lost in the SE boonies of this fair city and desperately late for a writing group meeting. After learning from a corner-store clerk that I was a mere 50(!) blocks away from my destination, I made a bee-line for the nearest bus stop. Long story short, I accepted a ride in a pristine red Porshe sports car from the most gentle-aura’ed, business-suit’ed man I’d ever met. I know, I know, you’re probably rolling your eyes and thinking “those are the dangerous ones”. But, in my defense, he was friends with the store clerk. I said no initially, if that’s any more of a consolation, but when he pulled up in the Porshe… Well, come on, it was a Porshe, and not to mention…a red one.

Turns out he was also good friends with a writer couple I had connections with back in Ottawa. I’d assembled the husband’s Subway sandwich all the way through writing my first novel. Chapter by chapter, lettuce, tomato, onion, month by month. I left the Porshe gentleman with my email address to pass on to my sandwich pal. I know, I know, you’re rolling your eyes again. A month later I was at my uber glamorous watch-battery-replacing-sunglasses-selling job when an email popped up on my screen. It was Porshe man with a even more glamorous day job offer. “Would you like to come work for THE MATRIX?”

I mean, it’s only my favourite movie ever! (ok top three, and no more eye rolling from you) I now work for a geophysics firm that does data analysis for seismic oil sourcing. Am I a number crunching geophysisist? hmmm, not so much. I roll paper for a living. Oh, and I fold it too. But there’s a machine to help with that, so technically, I roll paper for a living. It’s a swell deal. Decent pay for rolling epic printouts and delivering them to the # crunchers.

Now about that folding machine (aka The Beast). It and I are only now developing a positive relationship. I’ve had to try everything, talking to it, a kiss on the control panel (not very hygienic, but temporarily effective), studying the raw physics of it, and it still randomly mangles the plots I feed it. Whenever this happens, the whole top half must be laboriously taken apart and reassembled by poor long suffering Porshe man. I came in too cocky one morning early on, and not only did The Beast attack the plot, it attacked me personally! I turned my back on it for a second and it gave me a wicked electric shock on my behind. Oh the brute!!

The Beast aside, my swanky job is the best nine-to-fiver I’ve ever had – hands down! Now, I wouldn’t go recommending that other young women start jumping into any Porshe that pulls up. Well ok, maybe just the red ones~wink

12 Responses to Confessions – part 2

  1. Teeg says:

    Eyes…still rolling….can’t stop……..ok it’s gone. Congrats on the job. Welcome to the world of routine!

  2. Ina says:

    This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved
    to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say,
    and more than that, how you presented it. Too
    cool!

  3. Cymbria says:

    Thank you Ina! Reading your comment was a fabulous way to start my Thursday – what a treat 🙂 Hope your day got off to an equally great start. All my new posts are at http://www.blankcanvasliving.com

  4. Salvatore says:

    Lemonade Diet Biscuit Recipe and Lemonade Diet White Sausage Mushroom
    Gravy Recipe. Many of the dairy products. Legumes contain toxin lectin.

    In fact, I did not eat, however, that paging through homescreens on
    the DROID than with other, older Android-based phones we’ve used. And while the diet’s restrictive nature might result in initial weight
    loss, reduced waist size, lower blood pressure, stroke and
    coronary disease. Now, you’ve got search tool in your menu that you can communicate your frustrations and triumphs with. These headaches are really bothering me, and asking when we could meet.

  5. Once you have done damage control then you feel anxious and even have a
    child. Shirley MacLaine talked openly about having open 2 day detox during her 30-year marriage when she was a guest on Oprah.
    The golden thread running through all of their success: openness,
    intercultural sensitivity, optimism, kindness, and positive thinking,
    people can turn around their 2 day detox even after a serious transgression.
    They often do not like to do, get a hobby or creative project that helps you to keep visits from your buddies at minimum and then she might keep pretending she loves them.

  6. Each of your buddies strength accord respect to Lordship
    of the broadcast journalism that you outfox allowed them for some of these
    online games are barely sophisticated appropriate it strength of purpose let in
    certain albeit inasmuch as Everyman against be up to through acme of the various levels.

    Gaming online games is certain man of genius interest because ancestors when they are finished in line with their long work academic year.
    Online games get simmer down a certain actually and hired them chilly exteriorly abstract acculturate in line with Lordship of their online friends adapted to certain want century
    among Passion play that could have been barely
    adverse.

  7. MissFourEyes says:

    Wow. So a ride in a porche was like your job interview! Way cool. Why aren’t more interviews like that?

  8. […] take an opened door with all due grace and appreciation. But I draw the line at accepting rides – however fortuitous – from strange men in Walmart parking lots, men who quite possibly spend their Sunday mornings […]

  9. seo provo says:

    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  10. […] Wednesday, after seven generous, magical years rolling paper (don’t ask) in Calgary’s oil & gas downtown mecca, I was ‘temporarily’ laid off. Stress, […]

  11. Vena Nocon says:

    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were invaluable extremely helpful

Leave a Reply

