Before you can play the guitar… (part 4)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 3? (click here)

I walked out of the pawn shop twenty minutes later carrying the guitar, a busker’s dream case with lush velvety green lining, a digital tuner, and an ipod with a case (don’t ask), all bought for a total $220 cdn. Halfway through our haggling, I’d started to feel a little guilty. I wasn’t used to the merciless back and forth and sneak plays. But after listening to my quarry whine to another customer about the cost of the oak banisters he was installing as part of his total home renovation, any trepidation I’d felt dissolved.

My proudest moment? I had the man down to $230. I knew he wasn’t moving, per say, but maybe I could get him to bend. “My personal budget was $200,” I said. “The highest I could possibly justify is $220, because I could keep telling myself it’s only one twenty dollar bill more.” Sure he dropped the extra ten bucks, but something tells me I’ve got a long way to go before I should take on the New Delhi Market. sigh.

Only one thing separates guitar players from the non-playing public (hint: it’s not the guitar!). Only guitar players know how fantastically “cool” one feels walking down the street carrying a beat up guitar case. There’s really nothing like it. I put on my best tortured musician pout and headed for home. But I had no idea how quickly my sidewalk act would became the real deal. I should really have checked under that Band-Aid.

Stay tuned for part 5!

4 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (part 4)

  1. Type Writer says:

    This is turning into an adventure serial, complete with cliff-hangers: Indiana Jones and the Pawnshop of Doom

    TW

  2. Cymbria says:

    lol! I’m so thrilled you’re enjoying my harrowing (but true!) quest for a “relaxing” hobby. Stay tuned Type Writer! ps. thanks for the awesome comments!

  3. Type Writer says:

    lol! I’m so thrilled you’re enjoying my harrowing (but true!) quest for a “relaxing” hobby.

    Hopefully, the actual learning is less hectic than the purchase 🙂

    ps. thanks for the awesome comments!

    Well, thanks for the interesting writing; I think I need to add you to the list of people I need to add to my blogroll 🙂

    TW

  4. Cymbria says:

    flattered and delighted!

    : )

Leave a Reply

