Before you can play the guitar… (part 8)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 7? (Click Here)

I had two choices, and the one having anything to do with quitting was not an option after I’d come this far. The afternoon’s weather forecast called for rain, “scattered showers” if we’re quoting verbatim. There was nothing for it but to take the guitar home to suit it up for its coming adventure.

Two garbage bags did the trick, their overlaps secured with a twist around the plastic handle. As for myself, I took a red nylon shell for the afor mentioned rain, and my infamous green tweed newsboy for some serious street cred to take with me to the next guitar store. I was sick of being spotted as a newbie. With that funky cap on my head, I looked like I was ready to rattle off “Me and Bobby McGee” at a moment’s notice. So what if my guitar might be earmarked for the campfire!

If walking down the street with a beat up guitar case is the pinnacle of coolness, carrying said case obscured by billowing garbage bags while wearing a homeless styled tweed hat is the valley – the dark, dark valley. Add rain, not “scattered showers” (as if the weather is ever verbatim, sigh), but a solid sheeting two hour downpour, and you have quite a pathetic figure. Oh, I almost forgot; there’s one more ingredient to set the scene…remember those street directions from the human tambourine? All I’m going to say is nobody is that colourblind!

Stay tuned for part 9!

6 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (part 8)

  1. Type Writer says:

    You’re in a teasing mood today, for both this post and the one about the elevator… I’m just saying… 🙂

    TW

  2. Cymbria says:

    After almost losing a limb to yesterday’s Monday, teasing was soooo on the menu lol

  3. Type Writer says:

    Oh sure, like we told you to stop an elevator door-closing with your arm 🙂

    TW

  4. Cymbria says:

    At least didn’t try to use my head! oh wait, that works on so many levels lol.

  5. Alex says:

    “Stay tuned for part 9!”

    Good pun, intentional or not!

  6. Cymbria says:

    Can’t believe I never noticed that! man, and here I am calling myself a writer lol

Leave a Reply

