Before you can play the guitar… (part 10)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 9? (Click Here)

…I had to go on rage. The rain squirmed in under my jacket’s cuffs and collar. It crept up my shirt sleeves and mixed with sweat to dribble down my back. Just lovely, I know. It seeped in through my ears and splashed up off spinning car tires, drenching my pant legs. My sneakers squelched deeper into the mud with every step, but I was too wet and mad to care about any of it.

Why can’t it ever be easy?! All I wanted was to play a guitar! Was I asking too much of the universe! Why did it have to be raining? And if it had to rain, why did it have to be raining so bloody hard? And why, oh why, didn’t anyone seem to know that the fabled “yellow awning” I was supposed to be looking for was, in actual fact, a flat BLACK sign!

Turn back, you ask? When I was so close? Never. And it was with great sopping triumph that I finally laid my guitar case down in the middle of the Music store. My jeans had undergone the incredibly economical, but indescribably uncomfortable, transformation from medium wash to dark. Claustrophobia, anyone? Water from my green too-cool-for-school newsboy was dripping into my eyes and I could feel my core temperature starting to plummet. Do you think any of the half dozen wandering/chatting employees noticed any of this? Of course not. Apparently, it takes more than a funky hat to get any attention from this class of hardcore music buff. (TW- take note ; )

Stay tuned for part 11!

3 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (part 10)

  1. Type Writer says:

    Apparently, it takes more than a funky hat to get any attention from this class of hardcore music buff. (TW- take note ; )

    Will do on the assumption that this will make more sense to me after reading Part 11 🙂

    TW (who’s slightly blah after a fight with my mom)

  2. Cymbria says:

    who won? lol

    What’s the deal? So what’s the trick to first impression coolness when encountering a room full of “Hardcore music buffs”?

    I figure you’re the best person to ask, since you seem to run into quite a few of them in your posts. Oh wait, does that mean you’re one of THEM?

  3. Type Writer says:

    who won? lol

    I think, regardless of your age, there’s only ever one winner of those bouts… So the trick is to learn when to walk away…

    So what’s the trick to first impression coolness when encountering a room full of “Hardcore music buffs”?

    I think the trick is not to care what impression you’re making 🙂 Some of those guys are never gonna be impressed by anybody, so it’s pointless to try. All you can do is find a music store where people are helpful, or find the one helpful person in your music store…

    I figure you’re the best person to ask, since you seem to run into quite a few of them in your posts. Oh wait, does that mean you’re one of THEM?

    I can never be cool enough to be one of THEM 🙂

    TW

Leave a Reply

