Before you can play the guitar… (part 11)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 10? (Click Here)

When the puddle around my sneakers became too big too ignore (ok, ok, I’ll admit to slight hyperbole on that one, but ever so slight), a large bouncer-at-a-metal-concert man asked me what I was waiting for. I could feel his eyes judging me. I knew he saw the yuppy North Face jacket, the industrial designy eyeglasses under the brim of the trying-waay-too-hard scruffy hat. But I used my most confident laid back music chick voice and explained the situation. Needless to say, the man was did not look overly impressed when I pointed to the bulky garbage bags that were slowly saturating his floor mat.

You know, in reading this, I’m thinking most of this “acting cool” and “acting the part” ends up setting me up to look like an idiot. But I enjoy it. Ya, life is more fun when you let yourself really get into a situation. Act the part. Wear the clothes. You might not be up for an Oscar next March, but I guarantee you’ll have some stories to tell!

So I left my guitar for “Steve” the technician, who’d gone home early (of course), with a note listing everything that I’d been told needed fixing. I started to get that knowing itchy feeling in my gut while writing out the list. You know the one, when you begin to realize you’re going to be spending a whole lot more money than you were planning on…

Stay tuned for part 12!

4 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (part 11)

  1. Type Writer says:

    I’m trying to imagine what laid-back rock chick voice sounds like 🙂

    TW

  2. Cymbria says:

    There in lies the problem… I had no idea either. There was lots of casual shrugging and chin nodding involved in my attempt, and a “casual” attitude about grammar and the like. But really, I just tried not to say “like” or “sooo”. Because I, like, sooo, still use those words way too often ; )

  3. Type Writer says:

    Like, ohmigod, that’s so Valley Girl 🙂

    TW

  4. Cymbria says:

    What can I say? I live vicariously through my choice of slang. lol I just hope it works its way out of my system by the time I’m 30!

Leave a Reply

