Before you can play the guitar… (part 12)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 11? (Click Here)

The call from Steve came through to my office the next day. He gave me my long awaited second (or is it third or forth by now?) opinion and I promised to head over right after work. My second trip to the Music store was entirely different. I was greeted, by that very same bouncer, as a minor celebrity. I was pointed to a narrow set of stairs in “the back” and told to wait for Steve in his workshop.

The intimate room smelled of shellac and wood dust. One wall held a rack of freshly polished guitars, hung close and friendly. The opposite wall was organized to hold hundreds of tools and parts. He kept his pliers and screwdrivers in a long row of brown Tim Hortons paper cups. Now that’s what I call recycling! The workbench was covered with a soft green felt, the same colour as the divine plush in my case. The atmosphere was close, but not stuffy, like I’d walked into a hobbit hole and Bilbo would be home any minute.  

And there, resting quietly on the felt, almost unrecognizable in it’s new incarnation, was my Fender guitar… 

Stay tuned for the shocking conclusion!

9 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (part 12)

  1. Type Writer says:

    Shocking conclusion, huh? 🙂

    TW

  2. Cymbria says:

    All about the marketing lol !
    But honestly, I was completely shocked to hear what “Steve” had to say…

    woops, I’m getting ahead of myself…the suspense is just too much ; ) I’m sure you’re perched on the edge of your seat, refreshing your screen every minute of every hour of every day…

  3. Type Writer says:

    All about the marketing lol !

    Yes, indeed 🙂

    But honestly, I was completely shocked to hear what “Steve” had to say…

    Okay…

    I’m sure you’re perched on the edge of your seat, refreshing your screen every minute of every hour of every day…

    More like I’m slouched in my chair 🙂

    TW (having a tropical storm day)

  4. Cymbria says:

    oooo are you talking about lovely “Fay”? I heard the Keys were evacuated. I thought it was supposed to be paradise down there!

    Does “the slouch” offer the most positional protection again sea spray and flying debris? lol

  5. Type Writer says:

    oooo are you talking about lovely “Fay”?

    Yeah, Fay’s a lovely girl, but a bit stormy at times…

    I heard the Keys were evacuated. I thought it was supposed to be paradise down there!

    It is… But just like snow storms don’t dim your enthusiasm for your Canadian Rockies, tropical storms don’t ruin the Keys… If nothing else, they provide the perfect excuse for hurricane parties at Sloppy Joe’s

    Does “the slouch” offer the most positional protection again sea spray and flying debris? lol

    I’m too far inland to worry about sea spray, and Fay wasn’t strong to fling around debris, so it was basically a stay-at-home day, or a dress rehearsal for the busy part of the hurricane season 🙂

    TW

  6. Cymbria says:

    Fay sounds like a great catch lol.

    Hurricane parties at Sloppy Joe’s? Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about! (do dee do dee dee – always look on the bright side of…)
    And come to think about it, there’s nothing like getting snowed in to get the party started up here. Oh, wait a sec, that is right after everyone digs themselves out of their driveways to get there haha.

    Happy hurricaning! (I’m assuming that word’s part of the lingo down there, or did I just make it obvious that I’m from up North? lol)

  7. Type Writer says:

    Fay sounds like a great catch lol.

    After all the rain she’s given us this week, I think I’d like to see other people 🙂

    Hurricane parties at Sloppy Joe’s? Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about!

    It’s the reason it’s so hard to get the locals to evacuate Key West 🙂

    And come to think about it, there’s nothing like getting snowed in to get the party started up here. Oh, wait a sec, that is right after everyone digs themselves out of their driveways to get there haha.

    I’ve been lucky in that I’ve only ever had to shovel snow twice in my life… That’s hard work…

    Happy hurricaning! (I’m assuming that word’s part of the lingo down there, or did I just make it obvious that I’m from up North? lol)

    Yeah, you’re a creative Northerner, but it’s all good 🙂

    TW

  8. Cymbria says:

    Snow shoveling only twice? So it really is paradise down there. I take it all back. What’s a little hurricane or two? Or three? Oops, don’t want to jinx you lol

  9. Type Writer says:

    Snow shoveling only twice? So it really is paradise down there.

    Well, my snow-shovelling episodes were both up north, since the last time it snowed in Palm Beach was back in ’77…

    What’s a little hurricane or two? Or three? Oops, don’t want to jinx you lol

    Well, Fay managed to make four landfalls in Florida, so she certainly gave us a hard time (But I got lucky, as she saved most of her troubles for places north of where I live)

    TW

Leave a Reply

