Before you can play the guitar… (Conclusion)

Need to catch up on parts 1 to 13? (Click Here)

It was glistening, and that’s not word I use lightly (or often, or at all if I can help it – don’t ask). Freshly patched, sanded, shellacked, restrung, tuned, oh it was an incredible surprise. Like asking the quiet boy to a movie and finding out he’s a great…. So anyways, my guitar was gorgeous, but what about the sound?

Steve, delightfully Bilbo-esque and wonderfully passionate about his craft, came in behind me. He lifted my guitar, ever so gently, off the workbench and cradled it in playing position. “Do you know what this is,” he asked. I shook my head. “It’s a solid body Fender from the 70s, made in Japan. It’s a beautiful guitar. You just can’t go out and buy one of these. Where did you get it?” I told him my story – the much abbreviated version : )

“Listen to this…” he said.

He strummed his pick across the strings and the small room was instantly filled with richness and warmth. Wow. The lush sound resonated all the way into my bones. It had character, was mellow but strong, and a real layered depth. I wondered how many hands had played it around how many campfires, how many bus trips it had taken over how many miles. I felt a thrill. Now it was mine.

“Now listen to this one…” He picked a shiny black Johnny Cash special off the wall. It’s sound was weak, too high, and empty. Like a four year old trying to sing the national anthem – just cute. “And this one sells for $4000.” He went back to mine and played us a blues song. The guitar came alive. The room reverberated with music and feeling. I couldn’t stop saying “Thank You”.

When I left the store, $190 dollars later ($40-my b*t, mr. tambourine man!), it was with a digital tuner, a blues song book, and an extraordinary guitar. Best birthday present I ever bought myself! “Before you can play the guitar” has been such a journey, that now the “after” part should be a breeze. That pawn shop ipod stopped working weeks ago, but I don’t care. It’s time for the real music to start.

11 Responses to Before you can play the guitar… (Conclusion)

  1. Type Writer says:

    Well, Ms. Cymbria, I wondered at times if the payoff for following this serial was gonna be worth it, but I have to say the ending left me warm and fuzzy. It’s like a fairy tale for guitarists 🙂 Very nicely done, even if you skip over 13 in your part-numbering scheme 🙂 Now that it’s complete, I’d like to put up a post in my blog linking to this serial, so let me know if you have a photo or illustration you’d like me to use to illustrate it…

    TW
    p.s. You’ve inspired me to play “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away” at my Open Mike tomorrow, simply because it’s a great acoustic-guitar ballad…

  2. Cymbria says:

    Oh, as if there was ever any doubt lol! I would never waste my blogosphere’s precious time. Ok, so maybe the “Eric Burger” post was pushing it, but even then I was only trying to inspire my dear readers. And I’m so excited to have inspired some international music. Good luck at open mike! Oh wait, it’s Wed., you must have already played. So…well done, brilliant, perfectly in tune too! I couldn’t have done it better myself. No, really, not a chance lol.

    I’d be delighted to pass my “fuzzy fairytale” on to your readers. Thank you so much for sticking with the story! I’m planning on posting a pic with me, my darling (the guitar), and the infamous green tweed cap.

    Cheers

  3. Type Writer says:

    Oh, as if there was ever any doubt lol! I would never waste my blogosphere’s precious time.

    Well, I had no way of knowing that when I first started reading… and reading… and reading… 🙂

    Ok, so maybe the “Eric Burger” post was pushing it, but even then I was only trying to inspire my dear readers.

    I must admit, that burger looks good 🙂

    And I’m so excited to have inspired some international music. Good luck at open mike! Oh wait, it’s Wed., you must have already played. So…well done, brilliant, perfectly in tune too! I couldn’t have done it better myself. No, really, not a chance lol.

    Well, it’s a song I’ve played out before. And you can never go wrong with the Beatles, so it went over well…

    I’d be delighted to pass my “fuzzy fairytale” on to your readers.

    Cool… I wanted to put up a post with a link to it on my blog…

    Thank you so much for sticking with the story!

    Well, you reassured me that the end would be worth it, so I gave you the benefit of the doubt 🙂 And I’m glad I did… Now that you’ve spent so much time, money and energy to get a guitar, I hope you’re enjoying learning how to play it…

    I’m planning on posting a pic with me, my darling (the guitar), and the infamous green tweed cap.

    Would it be all right for me to use that photo to illustrate the post I want to do for your story? You can let me know…

    TW

  4. Cymbria says:

    You totally need burgers like that at those “Sloppy Joe hurricane parties”! But really, have you ever seen a man so happy? The anticipation…all about that first beautiful bite. Because by halfway through, his stomach’s gonna be killing him. He knows it, sure he does, but he doesn’t give a hoot. lol

    Beatles and corn on the cob, the only two things in life that are sure to deliver every time : )

    Link on TW…link on! I’ll get that pic up before Mon. Ok, so I’m not putting money on that, but I like to operate with at least a ballpark goal. mmm ballpark food…burgers, hotdogs…corn?

  5. Cymbria says:

    Ok, so I’m glad I didn’t put any money down.

  6. Type Writer says:

    I can’t say anything, since it’s been ages since I updated my blog… But I’ll get it together this weekend, hopefully…

    TW

  7. Cymbria says:

    …and I will get that pic going, hopefully, lol

  8. Cymbria says:

    I’m so proud of myself lol

    scroll down to the end of the “current blog serial” page to find out why…

  9. Type Writer says:

    Cute picture… nice folk-guitarist pose, and wearing the immortalized cap, no less. I guess you’ve given me some blog work, but since it’s been weeks since I’ve posted anything, I guess that’s allowed 🙂

    TW

  10. Cymbria says:

    There is no guilt in the blogosphere. That’s rule number one. At least it better be, or we’re all in big trouble lol!

    The cap was key to the mood and atmosphere of the whole photoshoot, which pretty much lasted all of hmmm 2 minutes haha.

  11. Eric says:

    Great Journey! Never stop playing!

Leave a Reply

