How to choose “the right” profile picture, avatar, or gravatar…

Something has been bothering me for months now, ever since I uploaded the ‘friendly’ and ‘engaging’ photo to your left. I thought I was above these sorts of superficialities, but, as it turns out, I’m not. You see, I was so sure “it” wouldn’t bother me. Because, you see, I was so determined not to put up one of those can’t-you-see-i’m-so-hot handheld, over-exposed digital pouts. You know the kind, with one hand suspiciously out of frame, the other resting saucily on a hip, the image dredged up from the wasteland of your camera’s overflow. How many batteries are wasted for even one Myspace-styled glamour shot?

And yes, even I must confess, I took this pic myself (by making very creative use of my bathroom mirror). What makes a great profile shot? Personality. I want my readers to want to come and hang out with that smiling blond woman in the sidebar. Come on, how can you resist? She’s looking right at you, hair all n.i.c.e., smiling engagingly (maybe even a bit cheekily), well articulated intellect sparkling in those baby blues, and all the while making sure you see that quaint little wedding ring on her finger. Ya sure, the perfect pic for what I’m going for. Except for one thing. One huge thing.

So here it is blogosphere, I can’t keep “it” in any longer…

My nose is not that big! It is in no way, shape, or form, bulbous!

Thank you. Thank you very much.

And thank you for tolerating this rather narcissistic post. So… how do you add a profile pic with real personality, but don’t want to compromise on the snoz?  Use an action shot! (See below)

So this is great…this post just graduated from “rather” to “completey” narcissistic. And my punishment? Having to stare at this new set of giant-bodybuilder-neck photos. Sigh. At least the nose is better. lol

7 Responses to How to choose “the right” profile picture, avatar, or gravatar…

  1. kristi02 says:

    You are terrible! Simply terrible!!
    First off, you DO NOT have a big nose! Nor does it appear to be as such. You’re just like me and every other girl out there: far too scrutinizing of yourself!! Those pictures are HOT and you know it! So then why would you pick up on the nose or neck thing?? Because we have ovaries. It’s just the way it is. I guess you could say that you picked out the least flattering features of the pictures, but so what?! If every single feature of yours was perfect, aside from getting slapped by me, you would probably be the most shallow person on the planet and thus become vapid.

    But you’re not like that! You are a genius with goddess-like beauty and that’s that – so there!

  2. Cymbria says:

    I so needed that spanking lol!

    Can I just fold you up and strap you onto my backpack or something? I need a portable Kristi for everyday self-esteem boosting, like a breakfast shake or a granola bar heehee – just no nuts heehee. Woah, totally didn’t mean that to be a pun there lol ; )

  3. Type Writer says:

    You’re a goof… I guarantee you that no guy has ever looked at your profile and noticed your nose 🙂

    TW
    p.s. Speakin of pictures, I see I have to comment on another one in a different thread…

  4. Cymbria says:

    …so there’s a nose to notice! eh!

    haha just kidding, thanks for the vote of confidence : )

  5. Therese says:

    I, for one, love your profile picture. It says “oh yes. I’m Cymbria.”

    And I love that.

  6. Therese says:

    As for the nose thing… we all see things that no one else sees, when we scrutinize our own photos. I never noticed the nose thing, and neither did anyone else. 🙂

  7. Cymbria says:

    heehee Thank you
    : – )

    or should I say…
    : )

    instead lol

Leave a Reply

