Elevators are treacherous in this economy

So… I happen to get in the elevator this morning with one of my office’s biggest oil company clients. I recognized her, despite red eyes and wild this-$34-a-barrel-is-killing-me hair, as Peggy-Ann, a charmer from the 17th floor. And I, as a dedicated and motivated employee, proceeded to make small talk. Groan – that’s when everything went so wrong…
“So I guess you’ve heard we’re moving,” I said.
Her eyes went wide with obvious shock and horror. “Matrix is moving????!”
This is where yours truly entered panic mode. Ah yes, the full-on arm flailing, the sheepish grinning, the hopelessly hole digging sputtering… and it all happened so fast – “just down the street…we’ll still be super close…you didn’t hear it from me…” Ohhhhh the agony!!! Did I just give out a corporate secret? Did I just somehow sabotage our company’s biggest contract? What does one do in this type of calamity?
Well…one fesses up to one’s boss in the office kitchen while trying to look extra “dedicated and motivated” by rearranging the pop cans in the bottom of the fridge. End result? Life…somehow…goes on. Turns out it was no biggie. And, as a bonus, now all the logos on the pop cans are lined up.
5 Responses to Elevators are treacherous in this economy

  1. Young lady, you’re fired …

    Yours truly,

    Mrs This-$34-a-barrel-is-killing-me …

  2. Thérèse says:

    Hee hee hee hee.

    Step 1. Open mouth.
    Step 2. Insert foot.
    Step 3. Farther, insert foot farther in.

  3. Cymbria says:

    Gilmour, did you ever give me a scare! Luckily, the woman’s a darling : )

    Don’t I know it Thérèse! Is it possible to choke on an ankle? ‘Cause we’re talkin’ shin-bone-all-the-way-down-the-esophagus over here haha

  4. Well Cymbria … I’m your worst nightmare … I’m her darling and only son … be ready for mommy dearest cruel revenge …

  5. Kristi says:

    Oh my gosh!!!! Cymbria… I would have died! Miss you tons!!! I keep thinking about calling you! We should get in touch soon.

Leave a Reply

