Burning The Ugly Pants: Join a 2010 personal style makeover (Part One)

The Before...

We live in a blank canvas world. Social conventions, notions of class, and even the dictates of fashion are becoming increasingly flexible. Such freedom can leave one floundering when it comes to communicating (or even defining) one’s identity. Who are we without structure? What happens when a society disconnects from its own history and traditions? 

We are becoming a surface people, all sound bites and profile pics, status updates and 140 character tweets. I’ve rebelled against this new framework from the start (although, I suppose you did just catch me blogging~wink). I’ve tried my best to dive down under the surface chaos – a life lived in ripples is a raw deal if you ask me – and explore the cool, still world under the waves. But, as you can see from the pic above, it’s bloody well time to come up for some air! 

There is a boon to all this surface talk. For the first in history, we have the unique opportunity to have our projections believed. If the world is so intent on taking us at face value, why not play the game? But on our terms. I’m not talking about plastic surgery and piles of makeup, but more about establishing a personal style that projects our strengths and ambitions. It’s about Focus.  

I invite you to join me in a 2010 personal style makeover. To tell you the truth, I’m actually quite nervous about this project. Will I have have the guts to follow it through? What about maintenance? Can I do it inexpensively? And, of course, the question all women ask themselves before embarking such journeys… Will it really make a difference? 

Let’s find out!

CLICK HERE to read more of this Saving Cymbria blog serial

11 Responses to Burning The Ugly Pants: Join a 2010 personal style makeover (Part One)

  1. I support you in this decision!

    My problem is a love a hodgepodge of things. So terrible!

  2. Cymbria says:

    Thanks Awesome! (may as well work the tagline lol)

    Truly tragic, I know. Strange how there are some people who seem to be able to pull off the “hodgepodge outfit”. I have a deep respect for anyone who can effectively “layer”. Sigh.

    ps. love the writing style on your blog!

  3. michelle says:

    I am excited to see the After part. Good luck on your quest for fashion and flare!

  4. Cymbria says:

    So am I! As for Fashion and Flare, piece a’ cake, lol. I can pick up both those Mags at 7-11 on my break~wink

  5. tawnyat says:

    Good luck!! I could use a makeover myself!

  6. Cymbria says:

    Thanks so much Tawnya! With that before pic, I’m going to need all the luck I can get lol.

    ps.Can’t imagine either of the two cuties in your pic needing a touch-up : )

  7. Type Writer says:

    This is a setup. I’ve seen pictures of you modelling clothes you’ve designed; no makeover needed, sister. This is just an elaborate justification for a shopping spree 🙂

    TW

  8. Cymbria says:

    Oh I wish TW, I wish!

    Ok, so I will to admit to not giving my Canada’s-Next-Top-Model ‘all’ in the before pic~wink. But rest assured, this dame needs a serious revamp! Just having that sweater in my closet should be reason enough lol ; )

  9. Arthur says:

    hey! that’s my sweater!

  10. Cymbria says:

    Oh reeeally? So you’re telling me this whole thing is your fault LOL! I tell ya’ that sweater was the first step down a slippery slope – so warm… so comfortable… so forgiving… what more could a girl ask for? How ’bout some style! How ’bout some LIFE!
    ps. Do you want it back?

  11. […] not be charging me for this. And seriously, why would I take advice from someone wearing such an abomination of a sweater?“ She’s right. Dr. C may have helped me burn my ugly pants, but the sweater she met me […]

Leave a Reply

